“Don’t say I didn’t warn you!” 

I imagine many of us have been told this more than a few times.  Still, we don’t always like to listen to warnings, do we? 

That was certainly true of Muhammad’s audience (54:5, 36).  They had been warned many times of the impending doom should they wish to ignore the words of Allah.  Nonetheless, they blew it off with unbelief. 

So there was only one thing left to say:

We [Allah] have made it easy to learn lessons from the Qur’an: will anyone take heed? (54:17)

This idea is so central to this surah that it recurs in whole or in part six times in fifty-five short ayahs (54:15, 17, 22, 32, 40, 51).  Listen up!  Take heed!  It is so easy!  Why can’t you see it?  Punishment for disbelief has come in the past and will come again.  Take heed! 

Everything they do is noted in their records: every action, great or small, is recorded.  The righteous will live securely among Gardens and rivers, secure in the presence of an all-powerful Sovereign. (54:52-55)

I grew up with the view that God was one big All-Seeing Eye.  There is nothing he did not see.  No action done in secret was hidden.  He was there always looking and weighing my every deed, writing them all down in His big book of deeds, the book He would use on Judgment Day to send me to Heaven if I had done enough good deeds or Hell if I had not.  I figured I was likely headed to Hell.  It was an image sufficient for evoking great fear in my life. 

I see now that this view is actually more Quranic than it is Biblical.

